Deep Web Search Engines, DataBases, and Quick Reference Guides

Geri Spieler
4 min readJan 12, 2022

Use these tools to help you search faster with more accuracy

Photo by iStock for Getty Images

After Macmillan published my creative nonfiction book about Sara Jane Moore, I was asked repeatedly how I did my research.

I never really thought about it. I just did it.

“But how?” people kept asking me.

I admit I am a master researcher and this book has gotten a lot of recognition for the research. So, I sat down and created an Internet Research Skills workshop that I gave around the country for a few years, until I moved on to other things that include writing…and of course, research. So, I have tons of stuff in my files from that workshop that I want to share with you. Hope these tips will help you.

I’ve been hearing a lot these days from friends who are finding it more difficult to find pertinent information from their Google searches? There are many reasons for this, one is the way the search is written. I’m a big advocate of Search Strings, and have a comprehensive list in my full Internet Research workshop. There is a lot more information in the Deep Web if you know how to find it.

These databases and search engines offer a “deep dive” into the Internet and will help you get closer to the specific types of information you are looking. Be aware…

--

--

Geri Spieler

Award-winning writer, master researcher, journalist, former Gartner analyst, non-fiction author. Reach me at gspieler@gmail.com